2014 NCAA Championship Field Set

Ohio State University hosts the 2014 NCAA Fencing Championships

Ohio State University hosts the 2014 NCAA Fencing Championships

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Men’s and Women’s Fencing Committee has announced the field of 144 competitors who will participate in the 2014 National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Fencing Championships. Ohio State will host the championships at French Fieldhouse in Columbus, Ohio.

Among the field are 3 members of the 2012 US Olympic Fencing Team, Men’s Foilists Gerek Meinhardt (Notre Dame) and Alexander Massialas (Stanford) as well as Women’s Epeeist Susannah Scanlan (Princeton).

The men’s and women’s fencing championships include individual events in each of the six weapons (men’s épée, men’s foil, men’s sabre, women’s épée, women’s foil, women’s sabre).

Fencers will compete in a round-robin format of five-touch bouts.  After the round-robin, the top-four finishers in each weapon will fence in semifinal 15-touch bouts, with the winners fencing to determine first and second places, and the non-advancing fencers being awarded a tie for third place.

An institution’s place finish in the championships will be based on points earned by each individual.  A team will be awarded one point for each victory by its student-athletes for the duration of the championships. In 2013, Princeton won the NCAA championships followed by Notre Dame and then Penn State.

3 schools (Ohio State, Penn State, and Princeton) qualified the maximum of 12 athletes. Based on the scoring for NCAAs, having more athletes qualified gives the school a greater chance at amassing the points needed to win the overall NCAA championship. With 11 fencers qualified, Harvard and St. John’s look to be in contention also. Columbia and Notre Dame will have their work cut out for them with 10 fencers qualified in the tournament.

 Total fencers qualified by school:

School   Total Qualified
Ohio State 12
Penn State 12
Princeton 12
Harvard 11
St. John’s (N.Y.) 11
Columbia-Barnard 10
Notre Dame 10
Penn 9
Stanford 7
Air Force 5
Duke 5
Northwestern 5
Sacred Heart 5
Yale 5
Brown 4
Temple 4
Brandeis 3
Wayne State (Mich.) 3
Cornell 2
New York University 2
North Carolina 2
Cleveland State 1
UC-San Diego 1


Individuals Qualified for the 2014 NCAA Fencing Championships

The following individuals were selected to participate in this year’s championships:

Men’s Epee

Simon Jones Brown Northeast
Paul Duchow Cleveland State Midwest
Brian Ro Columbia-Barnard Northeast
Jake Hoyle Columbia-Barnard Northeast
Alessio Santoro Duke Mid-Atlantic/South
Dylan Nollner Duke Mid-Atlantic/South
Alexander Eldeib Harvard Northeast
Mike Raynis Harvard Northeast
Joseph Rafidi MIT Northeast
Garrett McGrath Notre Dame Midwest
Inaki de Guzman Ohio State Midwest
Kristian Boyadzhiev Ohio State Midwest
Clifford Fishler Penn Mid-Atlantic/South
Royce Shipp Penn Mid-Atlantic/South
Conor Shepard Penn State Mid-Atlantic/South
Yasser Mahmoud Penn State Mid-Atlantic/South
Alex House Princeton Mid-Atlantic/South
Jack Hudson Princeton Mid-Atlantic/South
Charles Clark Sacred Heart Northeast
Jonathan Jacovino Sacred Heart Northeast
Cooper Schumacher St. John’s (N.Y.) Northeast
Yevgeniy Karyuchenko St. John’s (N.Y.) Northeast
Jake Harbour Stanford West
Paul Riviere Stanford West


Men’s Foil

Alex Chiang Air Force West
Noah Berman Brandeis Northeast
Adam Mathieu Columbia-Barnard Northeast
Harrison Bergman Columbia-Barnard Northeast
Joseph Lam Duke Mid-Atlantic/South
Brian Kaneshige Harvard Northeast
Michael Woo Harvard Northeast
Christian Vastola New York University Northeast
David Kong NJIT Mid-Atlantic/South
Gerek Meinhardt Notre Dame Midwest
Kristjan Archer Notre Dame Midwest
Christopher Colley Ohio State Midwest
Zain Shaito Ohio State Midwest
Jason Chang Penn Mid-Atlantic/South
David Willette Penn State Mid-Atlantic/South
Nobuo Bravo Penn State Mid-Atlantic/South
Michael Dudey Princeton Mid-Atlantic/South
Rodney Chen Princeton Mid-Atlantic/South
Andrew Holmes Sacred Heart Northeast
Max Blitzer St. John’s (N.Y.) Northeast
Michele Caporizzi St. John’s (N.Y.) Northeast
Alex Massialas Stanford West
Stephan Aman Stanford West
Quentin Schneider Wayne State (Mich.) Midwest


Men’s Sabre

Ryan Redhead Air Force West
Adam Mandel Brandeis Northeast
Geoffrey Loss Columbia-Barnard Northeast
William Spear Columbia-Barnard Northeast
Chris Monti Duke Mid-Atlantic/South
Alexander Ryjik Harvard Northeast
Eric Arzoian Harvard Northeast
Andrew Kelly New York University Northeast
Sam Austin North Carolina Mid-Atlantic/South
John Hallsten Notre Dame Midwest
Kevin Hassett Notre Dame Midwest
Fares Arfa Ohio State Midwest
Ryhs Douglas Ohio State Midwest
Shaul Gordon Penn Mid-Atlantic/South
Steven Yang Penn Mid-Atlantic/South
Adrian Bak Penn State Mid-Atlantic/South
Kaito Streets Penn State Mid-Atlantic/South
Peter Pak Princeton Mid-Atlantic/South
Philip Dershwitz Princeton Mid-Atlantic/South
Ferenc Valkai St. John’s (N.Y.) Northeast
Roman Sydorenko St. John’s (N.Y.) Northeast
Travis Tibbitts UC-San Diego West
Hugh O’Cinneide Yale Northeast
Reed Srere Yale Northeast


Women’s Epee

Mason Speta Columbia-Barnard Northeast
Victoria Wines Cornell Northeast
Sarah Collins Duke Mid-Atlantic/South
Emma Vaggo Harvard Northeast
Isabel DiTella Harvard Northeast
Courtney Dumas Northwestern Midwest
Dina Bazarbayeva Northwestern Midwest
Ashley Severson Notre Dame Midwest
Nicole Ameli Notre Dame Midwest
Caroline Piasecka Ohio State Midwest
Eugenia Falqui Ohio State Midwest
Aleina Edwards Penn Mid-Atlantic/South
Jessica O’Neil-Lyublinsky Penn State Mid-Atlantic/South
Jessie Gottesman-Radanovich Penn State Mid-Atlantic/South
Katherine Holmes Princeton Mid-Atlantic/South
Susannah Scanlan Princeton Mid-Atlantic/South
Megan Floyd Sacred Heart Northeast
Alina Ferdman St. John’s (N.Y.) Northeast
Isis Washington St. John’s (N.Y.) Northeast
Francesca Bassa Stanford West
Vivian Kong Stanford West
Chantal Montrose Temple Mid-Atlantic/South
Rachael Clark Temple Mid-Atlantic/South
Katherine Miller Yale Northeast


Women’s Foil

Madeleine Girardot Air Force West
Mary McElwee Air Force West
Caroline Mattos Brandeis Northeast
Kathryn Hawrot Brown Northeast
Jackie Dubrovich Columbia-Barnard Northeast
Sara Taffel Columbia-Barnard Northeast
Angelica Gangemi Cornell Northeast
Alexandra Kiefer Harvard Northeast
Jennifer Yamin Northwestern Midwest
Lee Kiefer Notre Dame Midwest
Madison Zeiss Notre Dame Midwest
Mona Shaito Ohio State Midwest
Alanna Goldie Ohio State Midwest
Cassidy Seidl Penn Mid-Atlantic/South
Luona Wang Penn Mid-Atlantic/South
Alina Antokhina Penn State Mid-Atlantic/South
Clarisse Luminet Penn State Mid-Atlantic/South
Ambika Singh Princeton Mid-Atlantic/South
Sharon Gao Princeton Mid-Atlantic/South
Irene Spezzamonte St. John’s (N.Y.) Northeast
Marta Hausman St. John’s (N.Y.) Northeast
Fatima Largaespada Temple Mid-Atlantic/South
Zuzanna Sobczak Wayne State (Mich.) Midwest
Lauren Miller Yale Northeast


Women’s Sabre

Alyssa Hofelina Air Force West
Caitlin Taylor Brown Northeast
Christine Whalen Brown Northeast
Sarah Yee Columbia-Barnard Northeast
Adrienne Jarocki Harvard Northeast
Aliya Itzkowitz Harvard Northeast
Cordelia Avery MIT Northeast
Gillian Litynski North Carolina Mid-Atlantic/South
Alisha Gomez-Shah Northwestern Midwest
Julia Abelsky Northwestern Midwest
Johanna Thill Notre Dame Midwest
Alexa Antipas Ohio State Midwest
Celina Merza Ohio State Midwest
Shyria Joshi Penn Mid-Atlantic/South
Nicole Glon Penn State Mid-Atlantic/South
Teodora Kakhiani Penn State Mid-Atlantic/South
Diamond Wheeler Princeton Mid-Atlantic/South
Gracie Stone Princeton Mid-Atlantic/South
Julia Greene Sacred Heart Northeast
Alexandra Tannous St. John’s (N.Y.) Northeast
Alexa Rohan Stanford West
Tiki Kastor Temple Mid-Atlantic/South
Kaja Klodawska Wayne State (Mich.) Midwest
Joanna Lew Yale Northeast



2014 NCAA Championship Field Set by



Comments are closed.