US Fencing Allows (Again) Foil Reversed Shoulders

Discussion in 'Rules and Referee Questions' started by Mac A. Bee, Dec 20, 2017.

  1. Mac A. Bee

    Mac A. Bee is a Verified Fencing ExpertMac A. Bee Podium

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Likes Received:
    182
    From the USA Fencing site: The USA Fencing Board of Directors voted on Dec. 5 to amend the Rules of Competition as it relates to the rule regarding reversing the line of the shoulders in foil competition. Beginning on Jan. 1, 2018, a foil fencer who reverses the line of their shoulders is no longer subject to a Group 1 penalty. The following segment of § t.18, ¶ 5 and t.120 will be removed from the Rules of Competition following the approval of this change by the Federation Internationale d’Escrime at its Congress in November: "At foil, it is forbidden, during the course of fencing, to advance the shoulder of the nonsword arm in front of the shoulder of the sword arm (cf. t.19). If a competitor does so he is liable to incur the penalties enumerated in Articles t.114, t.116, t.120. Any touches scored by the fencer at fault while committing this offence will be annulled."
     
    InFerrumVeritas and JSWGFA like this.
  2. naysayernyc

    naysayernyc Made the Cut

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    12
    Finally! The rule was supposed to make the life easier for the refs. It just added another source of controversy.
     
  3. neevel

    neevel Armorer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,370
    Likes Received:
    314
    Part of the problem was that it ended up encouraging fencers to try and crush the distance after being parried to avoid the riposte (a fencer drawing the arm back to hit the onrushing opponent risked bringing the weapon arm shoulder too far back and getting carded). Previously when reversal of the shoulders was not allowed, Corps a Corps was still a card in foil, which acted as a disincentive for a parried attacked to close distance aggressively (since they would most likely be the one to draw the card if CaC occurred). CaC to avoid a touch is still a group 1 offense, but it's rarely called.
    The challenge now will be to provide clear guidance to referees as to when covering target with the back arm should and should not be called, and get everyone in the habit of correctly enforcing that.
     
  4. DHCJr

    DHCJr Armorer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    5,425
    Likes Received:
    207
    t.18 is now t.23. t.23.5 has removed the wording you mentioned.
     
  5. Steve Khinoy

    Steve Khinoy DE Bracket

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    72
    What about internationally?
     
  6. Mac A. Bee

    Mac A. Bee is a Verified Fencing ExpertMac A. Bee Podium

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Likes Received:
    182
    As I asked, passed at FIE's November 25 Dubai Congress. Board's action was reaction to that.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2018

Share This Page