Student Teachers

Discussion in 'Club Corner' started by JCrafton, Apr 11, 2018.

1. JCrafton

JCrafton Rookie

I'm an officer of my college's fencing club. We don't have the resources of an actual fencing instructor, so whoever is elected president of the club teaches during practices, so our teacher is always just another student. We teach the basics in all 3 blades and do what we can to prepare new fencers for tournaments, but in the end, we are all students learning as we go. Any thoughts or advice on what we could do as a club to help better teach new students and improve our fencing without a proper teacher?

2. jkormann

jkormann Podium

1. Go to askfred.net, put in your zip code and see if there is a club nearby. Ask if someone there may want to be a volunteer coach.
    2. Guessing that the president has some prior (high school) fencing knowledge. Find a copy of Dr. Vinny Bradford's book on foil instruction. Very good breakdown.
    3. YouTube, and don't be shy about asking things here. We can be cruel, but it's in a caring way.

3. JCrafton

JCrafton Rookie

Do you know the name of the book you're talking about?

4. JCrafton

JCrafton Rookie

Taking Foil Groups to the Competitive Level: A System of Progressive Drills for Teaching Beginners and Training Competitors?

5. jkormann

jkormann Podium

Yes

JCrafton likes this.
  6. JCrafton

JCrafton Rookie

Thanks!

7. Strytllr

Strytllr DE Bracket

Since I'm not aware of the fencing education your club president or your fellow officers have, I'll start some basics:
    Make sure that your fencing sessions have a set structure. (ie. the sessions always are footwork first, bladework drills, then free fencing/practice).
    Make sure that that all fencers participate in all parts of the session as much as possible. (Nothing ruins new fencer development faster than "experienced" fencers skipping out on drills and only coming in to free fence)
    Make at least 1/3 of each session footwork drills.