Have seen this called occasionally, and wondering about it. (Sabre match): RH fencer is advancing, LH fencer retreating. RH fencer lunges first, LH fencer attempts to parry by distance only and then counterattack, both lights go off at the end of the action. The referee calls it straight attack from the right, touche. Upon being asked to review the video, the referee concedes that RH fencer actually did have their foot land first before the touch was made (making it a remise), however they believe the LH fencer began to counterattack before the foot had landed, and therefore the point was still awarded to the RH fencer. So there is the part that doesn't make sense to me: RH fencer has priority during their attack, and LH fencer counterattacks into it; if RH fencer fails the attack, priority should then shift to the LH fencer, who is already in the middle of striking back, and the touch should be awarded to LH fencer? Why is the counterattack nullified if it starts prior to the end of the first attack (and lands after that first attack has failed)?