So, I understand that "Members who are over 18 and 'self-reffing' in an open tournament are not required to be Coach or +CheckEd members, or have SafeSport training and a background screen". But how much falls under the umbrella of "self-reffing"? Is it enough to be entered as a competitor in the tournament, or are there circumstances which would trigger the certification requirement? If I am not SafeSport compliant and I referee a bout between two of the other fencers in the pool in which I am fencing, that's OK. But...if I am asked to referee a bout between two fencers in another pool, is that still "self-reffing"? If I ref a DE bout while I am still in the competition, is that still OK? What about reffing a DE bout in my event after I myself have been eliminated? What about reffing a bout in a different event ( Junior, for example ) running at the same time as my event while I am still in the running? After I am out of my event? What about reffing a bout in a different event and a different weapon in between fencing bouts in my own event?