Running past to avoid touch

Discussion in 'Rules and Referee Questions' started by jkormann, Apr 22, 2018.

  1. jkormann

    jkormann Podium

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,885
    Likes Received:
    171
    I was fencing someone who fleched past me, staying on the strip, to avoid a touch.
    Looking through the rulebook, he wasn't in violation of t.28 (stayed on strip), and never corp-a-corp'ed (t.20).
    He's fast on the take-off and gets beyond riposte range quick.
    Seems like a legit tactic - is it?
     
  2. Goldgar

    Goldgar Podium

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,600
    Likes Received:
    167
    Yes. But bear in mind that the riposte, begun immediately, can involve a turn and lunge to follow the opponent.
     
  3. jdude97

    jdude97 Podium

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,788
    Likes Received:
    193
    I'm not sure how to prove something is legal since the rules mainly say what is illegal, but I cannot think of a circumstance in which passing without corps a corps or leaving the lateral boundary of the strip would result in the annulment of a touch.
     
  4. mtwieg2

    mtwieg2 DE Bracket

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Correct, there's no penalty for passing an opponent to avoid a touch, even intentionally.
     
  5. swordwench

    swordwench is a Verified Fencing Expertswordwench Podium

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,974
    Likes Received:
    282
    Staying on strip to avoid the touch is... fencing. There is no penalty. It's what you should be doing.

    Fleching and landing off the side of the strip, but still close to the strip -- in a normal action -- is likewise not a card. There is a penalty in that you lose ground.

    OTOH, leaving the strip to avoid a touch looks like you actually went sideways off the lateral boundary, putting yourself out of reach of your opponent. It looks nothing like the incidental crossing off. THAT is a card. And a loss of ground. Don't do this thing.
     
  6. tbryan

    tbryan Podium

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    250
    Yes, it's fine and perfectly normal.

    In fact, even if he had left the strip while fleching past, it probably would have been fine. I've only seen t.28 applied in egregious cases, not in the course of a normal fencing action. There often isn't even sufficient room for your opponent to pass you and remain on the strip. Of course, if you start an action to hit your opponent before he passes or steps off the strip, you will be awarded the point even if the opponent is already passed / off the strip when the touch arrives.
     

Share This Page