Rest time between pool bouts

Discussion in 'Fencing Discussion' started by Blackwood, Dec 30, 2011.

  1. Blackwood

    Blackwood Made the Cut

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    24
    Fencers are allowed a 10 minute break between DE bouts. Is there a rule that establishes a minimum break for a fencer between pool bouts? In the official order of bouts, no fencer ever fences consecutive bouts, which should normally ensure a break of at least a couple of minutes. But what happens if the order is disrupted (for example because of a fencer who withdraws, or because of double-stripping)?

    If there is no rule about this is there a generally accepted guideline?
     
  2. oiuyt

    oiuyt Podium

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2000
    Messages:
    10,246
    Likes Received:
    977
    Check o.16.2.

    -B
     
  3. Blackwood

    Blackwood Made the Cut

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    24
    Thanks. I could have sworn I had already checked that page. So the answer is three minutes.
     
  4. Purple Fencer

    Purple Fencer Podium

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2001
    Messages:
    15,958
    Likes Received:
    522
    Is there guidance on a fencer doing 2 weapons, caught between DE in one and pool in the other?

    In SoCal, the rule of thumb is that DE takes priority over pool. I've never seen a break given while switching weapons, save whatever time is taken to change gear.

    Heck...I got knocked out of an epee DE once time and had to do all of my sabre pool bouts in a row. Tiring, but at least I didn't have a chance to cool down....won the pool, as I recall.
     
  5. KD5MDK

    KD5MDK Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    13,294
    Likes Received:
    636
    There is no rule covering rests for fencers in multiple events. At the national level it doesn't happen, at the local level it's whatever is most efficient for the tournament.
     
  6. epeemike81

    epeemike81 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    4,776
    Likes Received:
    229
    If you choose to fence two weapons, you are not entitled to any extra time.

    -m
     
  7. Allex

    Allex DE Bracket

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,060
    Likes Received:
    13
    Was is it the Anaheim Righteous Steel Open? :)

    [video=youtube;0lX6rGITrJQ]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0lX6rGITrJQ&feature=related[/video]
     
  8. Bonehead

    Bonehead Podium

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    137
    I never understood why people would think they should be. I see each event as a separate entity. If you had a foil bout, you're allowed 3 minutes before they will call you for another foil bout. If you happened to be entered in a pushup competition (or epee event) in those 3 minutes, that's your prerogative.
     
  9. Purple Fencer

    Purple Fencer Podium

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2001
    Messages:
    15,958
    Likes Received:
    522
    Ha ha....actually, it wasa regular SoCal event (back when we had them about every weekend....remember THOSE days?). I think the epee was unrated (I ended up 9th, as I recall)..sabre may have been a D and under. It was up in the cafeteria at Chaminade HS, either 2000 or 2001.
     
  10. half-baked

    half-baked Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    In Utah we've instituted a policy of politely asking foilists to remove their lame when they switch to their epee pool. Compliance is optional, though. Would this be a problem?:)
     
  11. erik_blank

    erik_blank Podium

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    62
    Absolutely. A foil Lamé can ground out the epee so that a glancing hit will not register on the scoring box.
     
  12. Purple Fencer

    Purple Fencer Podium

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2001
    Messages:
    15,958
    Likes Received:
    522
    Actually, yes. If an epee point lands and depresses the tip while some other portion of the weapon is in contact with the lame (usually the barrel, especially if the point catches a fold in the lame material), the hit could ground out and not register. Same thing foe allowing people to use a sabre mask for epee.
     
  13. tbryan

    tbryan Podium

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    239
    Well, it's usually not just that the bouts in different weapons have no break. If you're fencing a DE in epee, but it's your turn to fence a bout in your foil pool which is running concurrently, they will probably just skip that bout. It's not uncommon, then, to have 2 or more bouts in a row when you get back to the foil pool. In this case, the organizers accommodate the two-weapon fencer by reordering the bouts in the pool, but they generally won't also give the fencer three minutes between those pool bouts when they finally run them (often at the end of the pool).
     
  14. Inquartata

    Inquartata Podium

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    36,287
    Likes Received:
    1,203
    Let's use the proper terminology, hmm? For foil and sabre, the correct word is "pool". For epee, it's "poo". Please get it right. ;)
     
  15. edew

    edew Podium

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    Messages:
    9,755
    Likes Received:
    342
    In college, I once had to fence all three of my bouts in a row (vs CSUF) because I had to get back to the GRE exam.
     
  16. evaluna

    evaluna Made the Cut

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    4
    I once fenced a division qualifier for Div2/Div3. There were two separate events. For some reason the organizers finished the pools for Div 2, and then did not immediately run the DEs. They started and completed the Div 3 pools and then ran the DE round simultaneously for both. I finished the DE for Div2. They were waiting on the strip to run my DE for Div 3. When I asked for 10 mins I was denied on the basis of the DE being for a completely separate event. It was a drag.
     
  17. DavidX

    DavidX Guest

    At least you didn't have to see inquartata fence in drag.
     
  18. epeemike81

    epeemike81 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    4,776
    Likes Received:
    229
    I know I already used this one in another thread, but it's awfully true here too:
    [​IMG]
     
  19. Purple Fencer

    Purple Fencer Podium

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2001
    Messages:
    15,958
    Likes Received:
    522
    However....I was thinking of this line from Half-Baked's very first post:

    "A. Junior Epee I stopped a bout to make the fencer remove his foil lame (he was fencing two events at the same time.) I was told that they were told it was OK and it would speed the competition along."

    So it WOULD actually be a problem in that it could've easily cost a fencer some points in a qualifier...since someone fencing both foil and epee was allowed to wear their foil lame during their epee event to "speed the competition along."

    In reality, the amount of time needed to don a foil lame is minimal. Double-cording is not an issue....people do that all the time.
     
  20. epeemike81

    epeemike81 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    4,776
    Likes Received:
    229
    ...so, you had seen that post and still failed to recognize his post here as snark relating to that instead of a legit question...

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page