Question on Penalties

Discussion in 'Discussion Archive' started by Cal, Mar 7, 2005.

  1. Cal

    Cal Guest

    If you receive a red card (no previous yellows) can you then receive a
    yellow card or is it after the first red card, any penality thereafter is
    also a red (except in the case of receiving a black card)?
     
  2. Harold Buck

    Harold Buck Guest

    In article <[email protected]>,
    "Cal" <[email protected]> wrote:

    > If you receive a red card (no previous yellows) can you then receive a
    > yellow card or is it after the first red card, any penality thereafter is
    > also a red (except in the case of receiving a black card)?



    Only your first card can be yellow. If you get a red, you cannot then
    get a yellow card (although black is still an option).

    Similarly, if your first card is black, you cannot then get a yellow or
    a red card.

    :)

    --Harold Buck


    "I used to rock and roll all night,
    and party every day.
    Then it was every other day. . . ."
    -Homer J. Simpson
     
  3. In article
    <[email protected]>, Harold
    Buck <[email protected]> writes
    >In article <[email protected]>,
    > "Cal" <[email protected]> wrote:
    >
    >> If you receive a red card (no previous yellows) can you then receive a
    >> yellow card or is it after the first red card, any penality thereafter is
    >> also a red (except in the case of receiving a black card)?

    >
    >
    >Only your first card can be yellow. If you get a red, you cannot then
    >get a yellow card (although black is still an option).


    Surely only true if the red is in group one. If you get a red for group
    two or three, then a subsequent group one offence will still be yellow.
    For example, if you are two minutes late, and then straighten your
    weapon on the metallic piste, you get a red card (group 3) followed by a
    yellow card (group 1).

    >
    >Similarly, if your first card is black, you cannot then get a yellow or
    >a red card.
    >
    > :)
    >
    >--Harold Buck
    >

    [snip sig]
    --
    Regards,
    Tim S.
     
  4. Harold Buck

    Harold Buck Guest

    In article <[email protected]>,
    Tim Schofield <[email protected]> wrote:

    > In article
    > <[email protected]>, Harold
    > Buck <[email protected]> writes
    > >In article <[email protected]>,
    > > "Cal" <[email protected]> wrote:
    > >
    > >> If you receive a red card (no previous yellows) can you then receive a
    > >> yellow card or is it after the first red card, any penality thereafter is
    > >> also a red (except in the case of receiving a black card)?

    > >
    > >
    > >Only your first card can be yellow. If you get a red, you cannot then
    > >get a yellow card (although black is still an option).

    >
    > Surely only true if the red is in group one. If you get a red for group
    > two or three, then a subsequent group one offence will still be yellow.
    > For example, if you are two minutes late, and then straighten your
    > weapon on the metallic piste, you get a red card (group 3) followed by a
    > yellow card (group 1).



    Surely you are incorrect:

    t . 1 1 6 The first infringement, in this first group, is penalized by a
    Yellow Card (warning). If during the same bout the fencer commits the
    same or a different offence in this group, the Referee penalizes him, on
    each occasion, with a Red Card (penalty touch). *****If the fencer at
    fault has already been penalized by a Red Card because of an offence
    listed in the second or third group, he receives a further Red Card for
    his first infringement relating to the first group.******

    --Harold Buck


    "I used to rock and roll all night,
    and party every day.
    Then it was every other day. . . ."
    -Homer J. Simpson
     
  5. Mauler

    Mauler Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    201
    You are entitled to one warning (Yellow Card), and one only in every bout. After that point, every offense results in a penalty (Red/Black Card). Once you have received a penalty, there are no warnings, only more penalties.
     
  6. oiuyt

    oiuyt Podium

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2000
    Messages:
    10,246
    Likes Received:
    977
    Another interesting thing to note is that if multiple penalties are being assessed at the same time to a fencer (generally only true at the beginning of a bout when multiple rules are being checked), they are applied from most to least severe.

    For example, show up on the strip missing an inspection mark and with non-conforming (missing tip screw, whatever) equipment. Regardless of the order that the referee notices these two infractions, you will be starting the bout having given your opponent 2 touches (red card (group II) for the missing mark, then a red card (group I) for the non-conforming equipment).

    -B :)
     

Share This Page