protective cup

Discussion in 'Fencing Discussion' started by mrpibb, Oct 15, 2010.

1. mrpibb

mrpibb Rookie

Should i wear a protective cup? I'm new to fencing and would like to know.

2. Bonehead

Bonehead Podium

The vast majority don't.

3. DHCJr

DHCJr Armorer

I don't know if the vast majority don't. I don't go checking. When I fenced I did, but I like to protect what is mine.

If you check out the latest rulebook in Apendix A, Section 3.2 the FIE Medical Commission that cups ought to be part that is vital to protect.

It is your decision what is vital to protect. I find that we still must protect the ladies. They are required. Men are only suggested.

4. WGH

WGH Rookie

If you plan on parrying with your crotch, yes. Definitely. If not then you probably don't need to worry about it. I've never even been close to having a problem with foil and sabre. There were a few close calls in epee, but nothing ever hit home. I'm certainly glad to be without the discomfort and overheating of a cup. If someone seems really insistent on attacking down there, just use your natural genital protection instinct to not let them!

Disclosure: I have heard of the occasional sabre going astray and it doesn't sound fun. I also went mostly without a cup during kickboxing and karate training and competition based on the same avoidance principle I described above. That worked 99.95% of the time. If you don't find cups massively uncomfortable and find the risks unacceptable, you might want to consider a cup. As Bonehead said, the vast majority of us don't bother.

5. telkanuru

telkanuru Podium

Forum, meet obvious troll. Hello, obvious troll.

6. Fencergrl

Fencergrl Rookie

Based on the number of You Tube videos of various injuries to this region this is a fascinating subject for males however there are numerous threads on this subject on this forum so let's not put ourselves through another one.

sabreur likes this.
  7. Degenmeister

Degenmeister Rookie