Nice foil touch with a point-in-line (video)

Discussion in 'Fencing Discussion' started by tbryan, Jun 29, 2018.

  1. tbryan

    tbryan Podium

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,035
    Likes Received:
    266
    Since PIL is a frequent topic on the forums, I thought that I'd share this clip from the Pan Am's men's foil gold medal bout where Imboden scores with with point-in-line:


    (I'm attempting to share the link with the volume muted in case you're watching at work. Unmute for the full Race Imboden experience. ;))
     
    jkormann likes this.
  2. jkormann

    jkormann Podium

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    205
    What's "Something I cannot do if I tried" for $500.

    That was pretty.
     
  3. Purple Fencer

    Purple Fencer Podium

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2001
    Messages:
    16,361
    Likes Received:
    587
    VERY nice...of course, his coach is Sergei Golubitsky, who was a master of the technique.
     
  4. Strytllr

    Strytllr DE Bracket

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    113
    HA! I have seen this tried a hundred times, and the marching fencer is ALWAYS given the stupid ROW. Either the FotR was penalized for searching around the blade or that ref disagrees with every high level ref i get to deal with.
     
    Grey Sabreur likes this.
  5. Mac A. Bee

    Mac A. Bee is a Verified Fencing ExpertMac A. Bee Podium

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,769
    Likes Received:
    180
    FotR's attack is continuous, so we can only guess that the ref believes Race established line out-of-distance. Recommend we move this to the Ref forum.
     
  6. Purple Fencer

    Purple Fencer Podium

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2001
    Messages:
    16,361
    Likes Received:
    587
    It's not so much being out of distance (because Right really was not), but of the ref having time to see the line properly established. Breaking distance is simply an element that gives that time, and also has the benefit of allowing the line to be out before the final attack begins from the other side.
     
  7. Goldgar

    Goldgar Podium

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    178
    "The ref having time to see the line properly established" isn't really a thing. But ...

    1. The line was established before the attacker's final advance lunge. The rules are ambiguous in this respect: some referees will consider the attack to be in progress no matter how many steps it takes, some will not. More importantly,

    2. The attacker tried and failed to take the blade. That cedes right of way to the point in line.
     
  8. Purple Fencer

    Purple Fencer Podium

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2001
    Messages:
    16,361
    Likes Received:
    587

    It was when I asked Derek Cotton about it.
     

Share This Page