NBC Olympics...

Discussion in 'Water Cooler' started by Neinteen, Aug 7, 2008.

  1. Neinteen

    Neinteen Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    12,086
    Likes Received:
    181
    How the hell do I watch the videos on a non-intel mac...


    There's gotta be a way...
     
  2. AndrewH

    AndrewH Podium

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    116
    I also have a non-intel mac, so I'll be using the following "hack" to watch videos:

    1. Steal my brother's Macbook Pro
    2. Watch fencing
     
  3. Neinteen

    Neinteen Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    12,086
    Likes Received:
    181
    I'm going to kill someone.

    jk.. don't call the police...
     
  4. Pescados666

    Pescados666 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,412
    Likes Received:
    53
    What os do you have on the mac?

    It says that Silverlight should work on Firefox/SeaMonkey/Mozilla and Safari with Mac OS 10.4/10.5 PowerPC.

    There is something called Moonlight though... It's a 3rd party version of Silverlight that works on Linux... So... you could reinstall Linux through VirtualBox and use FF in Linux to watch it, but you probably won't :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2008
  5. Neinteen

    Neinteen Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    12,086
    Likes Received:
    181
    The mac one.

    OSX?

    I'm going to kill someone.
     
  6. bob46

    bob46 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    6
    Simple solution: go to the library and hope they have a pc.

    Complex solution: Run an emulator over your mac. Buy a $200+ vista installation (or buy an old xp, it'll be better). Then, spend 1 hr+ trying to install it.

    Oh, I almost forgot... Extremely simple solution...: buy a pc... :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2008
  7. Pescados666

    Pescados666 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,412
    Likes Received:
    53
    I updated my post after doing some more research.
     
  8. bob46

    bob46 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    6
    anyways, back to the real topic...

    Which version of OS X do you have? Click on the apple button on the top left corner and click on something that says system of some sort... that'll tell you...

    then again, i hate macs, cant use them well, so if theres a mac expert round here, don't listen to me...

    :)
     
  9. bob46

    bob46 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    6
    Um... last time we suggested linux to nein...

    ;)
     
  10. Pescados666

    Pescados666 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,412
    Likes Received:
    53
    Well, can you run Windows on it? It would be wrong though for someone to go and download a torrent of windows 98 SE and run that over virtualbox... >_>
     
  11. bob46

    bob46 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    6
    idk, u could try running vmware...http://vmware.com/
     
  12. bob46

    bob46 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    6
    although i usually hate emulators, they're just another obstacle. i usually cant getum to work either... meh oh well!

    i prefer to install linux straight by means of a .iso file, then burning onto a cd. (or in the case of open suse, a dvd)
     
  13. Pescados666

    Pescados666 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,412
    Likes Received:
    53
    I'm more familiar with VirtualBox. It's by Sun Microsystems and I know that it supports many operating systems.
     
  14. bob46

    bob46 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    6
    ooh, or emulate the BEST WINDOWS EVA!!!!!! (windows 95)
     
  15. Pescados666

    Pescados666 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,412
    Likes Received:
    53
    On VB, once you have the Vdrive made, you can into the settings, on cd drive, and there's a place where you choose the .iso to mount. It runs that .iso as if it were a cd. Then you install, shut it down, and remove that .iso and it boots the virtual machine into the recently installed OS.
     
  16. Neinteen

    Neinteen Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    12,086
    Likes Received:
    181
    It says Silverlight 2.0 is for mac, but when you install it says not.

    I'm not going to the library from 10 PM -3 AM

    Mines latest. 10.5. something

    I have a new trick, BBC through a british proxy. GG. Stupid god damned PC loving ameriacns i hate you all so much
     
  17. bob46

    bob46 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    6
    it kinda all went downhill from there...
     
    Neinteen likes this.
  18. bob46

    bob46 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    6
    oh, so ur familliar with open solaris too? is it good???

    i digress... we're helping nein with her mac right? :D
     
  19. Neinteen

    Neinteen Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    12,086
    Likes Received:
    181
    Now i have firefox slow as hell with a british proxy and safari open to do normal internets stuff.

    UGH STUPID AMERICAN NBC GOD FRIKKEN OMG I HATE YOU ALL
     
  20. bob46

    bob46 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    6
    lol... actually, i hate windows (literally) I always whack my head into them.:D

    10.4 means u have leopard.
     

Share This Page