Mask cord discovered detached after a halt

Discussion in 'Rules and Referee Questions' started by Chico, Nov 16, 2017.

  1. Chico

    Chico Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone,

    I was reffing sabre, but I imagine the question is the same in foil:
    - RHF attacks, appears to get parried. LHF appears to attempt a riposte.
    - Only RHF light had gone off (poor parry, or remise, tough call)
    - LHF points out that RHF mask cord is not connected (after the halt). I as the referee cannot tell if it was that way before starting the bout, came off during the bout, or after the halt.

    As the referee, do I:
    - Anull the touch for RHF?
    - Too late, award the touch?
     
  2. keropie

    keropie Podium

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    164
    Doubtful hit (technically you should verify that the weapon does not set off a light when the saber hits the unplugged mask, but we all know how that turns out), no touch. Assuming the attempted riposte was anywhere vaguely near the head. Maybe you ignore it if it was a very clear flank riposte of something like that.
     
  3. Mac A. Bee

    Mac A. Bee is a Verified Fencing ExpertMac A. Bee Podium

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    157
    t.73
     
  4. leo6556

    leo6556 Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    If the attacked was to the head and you can not say you saw the head cord in place no tiuch
     

Share This Page