Imboden-Le Pechoux Cairo

Discussion in 'Fencing Discussion' started by HalfBlue, Mar 6, 2019.

1. HalfBlue

HalfBlue Made the Cut

This bout seems to have an unusually high level of contention / protest / etc from each of the fencers, particulary on & after Imboden's 10th touch.... can any of the experts out there provide some color for us less expert watchers, as to what all was going on?

2. K O'N

K O'N Podium

I'm not an expert in anything, but it certainly looks in that touch like Imboden stepped off the strip, then finished his riposte. I would suppose that that's what all the fuss was about.

3. mfp

mfp Podium

The finish isn't the important bit there -- it's the timing of the start that matters: t.33 (1) and (3)

4. Strytllr

Strytllr DE Bracket

so, Le Pechoux called for video replay, then the US coach called for an appeal to the BC?

5. HalfBlue

HalfBlue Made the Cut

It's not just that one touch.... the rest of the bout has a bunch of arguments. For example 2:49, 2:19 and 1:50 in the 2nd period. It's hard (for me at least) to tell whether there are legit bad actions going on or if these guys are just in a mood to argue.

Last edited: Mar 6, 2019
  6. Diesel

Diesel Made the Cut

I think the initial challenge from Le Pechoux was whether Imboden had passed him.

7. Strytllr

Strytllr DE Bracket

it also seemed that someone off camera on the left said something that Imboden took offense at after the bout. I thought it was interesting that the french coach was the first person to try to hold him back. ahh, for better sound and a better knowledge of french.

8. jdude97

jdude97 Podium

There's a lot to unpack in this one.

Race's 10th touch [9:20]: