Identify Scoring Box + power supply info needed

Discussion in 'Armory - Q&A' started by Tall Man, Mar 22, 2018.

1. Tall Man

Tall Man Rookie

I was given this scoring box a couple of years ago. I am told it functions- I am hoping to set it up in our club as a simple touch indicator for our kids epee classes. There is no logo or makers marks on it anywhere. It is mounted inside a Pelican Box. I figured I would post it here and seek the wisdom of the crowd. My questions:
    - Any idea who manufactured this?
    - I need a power cord/supply. I'm no electrical engineer but I see that the power input is a XLR audio jack (see photo). I figure I can rig something by re-wiring an old power supply cord but I don't know how to determine what the voltage / power requirements are and I don't want to fry it (or myself). How do I figure this out?

Any help would be appreciated. Many thanks in advance.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Mar 22, 2018
  2. keropie

keropie Podium

3. DangerMouse

DangerMouse Podium

4. Tall Man

Tall Man Rookie

Hey, that's great. Many thanks. I'll email them now. Looks like it comes with a lifetime of upgrade coverage.
    Thanks again!

Rab

5. Tall Man

Tall Man Rookie

6. SJCFU#2

SJCFU#2 Podium

A few things to note:

First off, Tripplette machines use a 12vAC power supply - AC - not DC. As such they differ from almost about every other scoring machine made in the last forty years.

Second they use a 4-pin DIN plug for power - not a 5-pin DIN (if they had done that then you might have actually been able to buy replacement parts). If you number the pins at the 9 and 11 o'clock positions 1 and 2, and the pins at 1 and 3 o'clock positions 3 and 4, then one wire coming out of the power supply will connect to pins 1 and 2 while the other wire will connect to pins 3 and 4 - since it's AC polarity doesn't matter. Whatever you do, don't short pins 2 and 3 (or 1 and 3 or 1 and 4 or 2 and 4) together.