Hi Tec and fencing

Discussion in 'Fencing Discussion' started by Spenzario, Aug 9, 2016.

1. Spenzario

Spenzario Rookie

Hi fencers,

Just a thought, how hi-tec works nowadays and the possibilty of fraud during matches.
    Question 1: can signalling units be influenced by remote controllers? If so this has to be inspected and prevented.

As a teacher I have another thought, at examinations students have to hand in their watches, their cel phones and may not have any earphones. Because of the earphones, all the students must have uncovered ears. Maybe this is to far fetched for sports.
    So question 2 is, should this also be applied in all the sportsevents just to prevent coaching during the matches?

2. LordShout

LordShout DE Bracket

1: Influenced, yes and no. Substantial steps are taken to prevent this, however some (to my knowledge) rely on security-through-obscurity so may have the remote potential of being cracked. Additionally, the boxes have jamming identifiers allowing the directors to identify if there have been any jamming or interference events. Finally, even if one had a functional and sneaky crack it would be very hard to use it successfully in this age of video review.

2: Headphones and all other electronic devices are banned while on strip already.

Spenzario likes this.
  3. Spenzario

Spenzario Rookie

Thanks for your answer LordShout. With the devices it seems quite secure. However we have to continue to pay attention to this theme.
    About the earphones, the students are obliged to use the veil in a way that the ears are visible. And from a religious point of view it is permitted to use the veil this way. This will be in future a point of discussion in sport events.

4. jkormann

jkormann Podium

A veil that covers the ears would nothing to do with it. It would still be possible for a small receiver to be placed into a mask and isn't picked-up by an armorer's inspection (they focus on the face, not padding).

Spenzario likes this.