General Fitness Suggestion needed

Discussion in 'Fencing Discussion' started by CaptPirate, Jul 28, 2017.

1. CaptPirate

CaptPirate Rookie

I have been doing some general workout besides regular fencing training to keep myself physically fit and improve stamina, mostly mid distance running and swimming. Then one day it comes to my mind that why don't I do a short distance triathlon, e.g. Olympic Triathlon (under a mile swimming, 25 mile cycling and 6.2 mile running). I have done all those ranges separately, just need to train to put them together.

What do you think about this? I know the question is vague. I am just trying to get some idea whether this would be beneficial? or would do more harm than benefit. Or would a general endurance training better than this?

Thanks in advance.

mpego1 likes this.
  2. jdude97

jdude97 Podium

I'm no training expert but I agree cross-training is very important. Swimming is great exercise, especially for fencers, as it's a full-body workout but no impact on the knees. I'd be wary of the high amount of impact long distance running and cycling might put on your body, but others can comment on this better than I.

I know this isn't what you're asking about, but if you want a fun cross-training sport, consider tennis. I find tennis very analogous to fencing. Quick direction changes, hand-eye coordination, strategic thinking on the fly, short bursts of speed with an overall stamina element.

3. CaptPirate

CaptPirate Rookie

Thank you for the reply. The concern of impact on knees is one of the reason I am debating.