Favero power cord issue

Discussion in 'Armory - Q&A' started by Purple Fencer, Aug 29, 2018.

  1. Purple Fencer

    Purple Fencer Podium

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2001
    Messages:
    16,363
    Likes Received:
    587
    I have a Favero box that has an intermittent power issue.

    The box is fine....the issue is with the power cord. There appears to be a partial wire break close to the plug.

    That's not a problem....it's an easy repair...except for that round ferrite block around the cable.

    I know what it's for ( https://www.electricaltechnology.org/2014/11/ferrite-bead-tiny-cylinder-power-cords-cable.html ), but there's no way to move it back and give room for a repair....it's very close to the break point.

    Is there any way to move it, or is it simply easier to get an entirely new power supply? If it'll work without the ferrite, I can always cut it off and make the repair, but I don't know if that's a good idea.
     
  2. Emfuser

    Emfuser DE Bracket

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 1999
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    33
    You can buy cheap ferrite chokes just about anywhere that sells electronics stuff, including amazon. It's likely you'll be able to replicate the function of the old one with a clamp-on replacement.
     
  3. andy.collins

    andy.collins Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    6
    I would be very surprised if the ferrite is at all necessary. In fact, I can't recall the last time I saw one on a basic 12V power supply. Unless the unit is running either (a) next to some very sensitive receiver, or (b) in a very RF noisy environment, then I wouldn't worry about it at all.

    Andy
     
    Mac A. Bee likes this.
  4. brtech

    brtech Podium

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    183
    It was probably necessary for the entire unit to meet the emissions tests. Just cut it off.
     
  5. neevel

    neevel Armorer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,360
    Likes Received:
    309
    Many of the Favero's I've see have power supplies without the ferrite (it just depends on where Favero was sourcing their power supplies at the time)- it'll be fine if you trim it off. For a lot of electronic devices (particularly from smaller manufacturers, which is what all fencing suppliers are), the selection of the power supply that comes with it boils down to: "We need to restock, who can give us the best deal on something that meets our voltage/current specs?" If a supplier has a stock of them with a ferrite at the right price, then so be it.
     
  6. Purple Fencer

    Purple Fencer Podium

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2001
    Messages:
    16,363
    Likes Received:
    587
    Thanks, David....I swore I've seen a few cords without the feerrite, and now I understand why.
     
  7. Stence

    Stence Made the Cut

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    Speaking of favero power supplies actually my club has a bunch that have a break in the line near the head just like a body cord would, but Im not sure how to fix them as theyre coax not separate wires. Any chance at a written explaination or a video tutorial?
     

Share This Page