Epee - when to stop the action when dropping a blade

Discussion in 'Rules and Referee Questions' started by jkormann, Oct 10, 2017.

  1. jkormann

    jkormann Podium

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,700
    Likes Received:
    140
    Fencing epee.. Guess this could occur in foil too.
    Fencer A makes a bind on B and finishes the attack.
    As the attack finishes, B loses control of the weapon and it hits the ground tip-first.
    Does A get the touch?
    I said Yes, touch stands because B lost control as A finished. If A had been in prep, or before the final action, it could go different.
     
  2. keropie

    keropie Podium

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    112
    Generally speaking, the action that has begun is allowed to finish. So, bind (or beat, press, whatever), opponent loses blade as/after attack starts, attack is allowed. In epee, if the opponent drops the weapon point first and times out the attack, there is no touch; if two lights are on the machine, touch is only against the opponent (for the attacker).

    At least that's my understanding.
     
  3. InFerrumVeritas

    InFerrumVeritas DE Bracket

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    26

Share This Page