Does FIE gear weigh much more than 350N?

Discussion in 'Armory - Q&A' started by anton_fairfax, Mar 2, 2017.

1. anton_fairfax

anton_fairfax Made the Cut

Hi there,

I'm a novice fencer, and I was about to order an FIE uniform, mask etc. I currently have a 350N outfit from Absolute Fencing, but I found the idea of the lightweight Leon Paul FIE gear appealing (the x-change mask, apex uniform etc, apparently 37% lighter than others), however someone at my club mentioned that the FIE gear is quite heavy due to the increased protection, and that even though it's described as lightweight compared to other FIE gear, it will still be heavier than my current AF 350N gear.

I can't seem to find any weight info on masks or jackets for any brands so I'm wondering if anyone can give me advice on how the LP FIE gear will compare (in weight, comfort, feel etc) to AF 350N gear, and is the difference very noticeable? And I guess the follow up would therefore be, for training/club purposes where FIE isn't required, would the 350N stuff be easier to fence in if its lighter than the FIE?

2. dcchew

dcchew Podium

The newer higher end FIE uniforms are made of lightweight materials. Whether it will improve your fencing at your current experience level is debatable at best.

If I were you, I'd invest my money in quality weapons, lames, and body cords. There's nothing like a properly assembled weapon with quality components. Other than private lessons, that will improve your fencing more than a lightweight uniform.

3. anton_fairfax