Comparison of the German screwless foil point designs

Discussion in 'Armory - Q&A' started by Emfuser, Jun 4, 2018.

1. Emfuser

Emfuser DE Bracket

[​IMG]
    (The FWF (L) and Uhlmann/Allstar (R) screwless points disassembled (outside) and assembled (inside).)

Preface: I am not a professional armorer. I am a tinkerer and engineer who likes to try new things and I like to share my findings. I'm also not selling anything nor was I provided free parts. Everything I'm writing about was acquired entirely at my own cost at full price. Yes I know this posting will call up all sorts of history and stories and opinions about these sorts of things. I usually enjoy that sort of stuff.

Introduction
    This article compares the FWF foil tip, which they call "FWFSF" and Uhlmann/Allstar screwless point designs. Hereafter the latter will simply be referred to as the Uhlmann design because that's what I bought. In their naming schemes, Uhlmann calls their screwless point "LUX" and Allstar calls theirs "ULTRA". They are identical.

Screwless point designs are not new to fencing or foil fencing in particular. In prior years both Schermasport and Estoc ventured into this arena. Schermasport simply called their design "screwless" whereas Estoc called theirs the D3000. The German designs much more closely resemble the Schermasport design in layout and functionality. Politics at the time (~2007) made screwless point designs illegal for a time, but that has since gone to the wayside. Both of these designs have received FIE approval at the time of this writing.

Basic Construction