Card question

Discussion in 'Fencing Discussion' started by catwood1, Dec 16, 2008.

  1. catwood1

    catwood1 Podium

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,415
    Likes Received:
    159
    Ok, I think I should know these, but I don't, so I'll ask, because I'm sure there are other people that don't know.

    A couple of assorted questions about cards that can be given:

    1) Say at 4-4, both fencers already have a yellow. A guy gets a touch, then has a crazy over the top celebration. The ref wants to card him for it. If he does not want to black, his best option would be a red for disturbing order, and even if didn't want to do that, anything else would be at least a red. If he gives this, would it annul is last touch, and give the opponent the win? Or would his victory stand?

    2) At the end of a close DE bout, a fencer wins then has a crazy over the top celebration where he gets black carded. Would this mean the other fencer has effectively won the bout, or that the original winner still won the bout, but is then ejected from the event?


    I think in both of these the exact timing may matter. If I win a DE then have a crazy celebration 10 minutes later, I still won my DE. But, if I celebrate before shaking and signing, did I still win the bout?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. edew

    edew Podium

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    Messages:
    9,755
    Likes Received:
    342
    At least in case (2), if the fencer cheers too obnoxiously before the referee signs on the scoresheet, I can see the referee hand the black card and he's out before the end of the bout and the loser becomes the winner. If he's walking to the BC table with the scoresheet and does something black cardable, then the loser is still the loser and the future opponent of the winner automatically wins that next bout.
     
  3. acarter

    acarter Made the Cut

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    22
    I think, and I'm not sure, but for #1 if you give a red card for disturbing order it doesn't annul a touch, but in this case it would make it 5-5, which in reality is back to 4-4. It's the same "action" when both fencers earn a touch, one for scoring one as a penalty touch, so both get annulled, and your back where you started.
     
  4. KD5MDK

    KD5MDK Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    13,294
    Likes Received:
    636
    You've forgotten the other 10 points they need to score to reach 15. :p
     
  5. irishfolker

    irishfolker Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    31
    Not if it's a pool bout.
     
  6. telkanuru

    telkanuru Podium

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,532
    Likes Received:
    643
    The correct answer is don't throw the card to begin with.
     
  7. epeemike81

    epeemike81 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    4,776
    Likes Received:
    229
    QF Probable T.

    I have never seen a celebration that I would throw a card for. Certainly not a G3 Red.

    I could envision one for which I'd throw a black (probably involving the words "suck it, *****!") but I've never actually encountered it, so odds are this situation just shouldn't come up.

    IMO, any celebration which isn't deserving of a black for unsportsmanlike isn't worthy of a card.

    -m
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2008
  8. Cookeit

    Cookeit Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    53
  9. HDG

    HDG Podium

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,663
    Likes Received:
    191
  10. notalent

    notalent Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    60
    Generally speaking I agree with Mike and Telk. At one NAC a comp got a G3 red and was told to refence a touch after he whipped off his mask for the 15th touch and it bounced on another strip IN USE.
     
  11. catwood1

    catwood1 Podium

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,415
    Likes Received:
    159
    One such example I saw, there was a thread on here about.

    Fencer wins the bout, turns around and screams / growls for about 2 or 3 seconds. Stops. Turns about around. Takes about 4 or 5 steps (silently) up to his opponent and growls again in his face.

    This is definitely a card. I could see not giving a black, but you can't do that...
     
  12. telkanuru

    telkanuru Podium

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,532
    Likes Received:
    643
    It is?
     
  13. catwood1

    catwood1 Podium

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,415
    Likes Received:
    159
    Absolutely.

    If its a decision to stop yelling. Turn 180 degrees, take 5 steps towards your opponent calmly, then scream again in his face, absolutely...
     
  14. KShan5[PrFC]

    KShan5[PrFC] Podium

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,655
    Likes Received:
    178
    and you've seen this when?
     
  15. Allen Evans

    Allen Evans Podium

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,780
    Likes Received:
    821
    This wouldn't be unsportsmanlike conduct?

    AE
     
  16. Rockstar44

    Rockstar44 Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    34
    Just for the record, I am not a Ref, but I have an opinion on this.

    1) Say at 4-4, both fencers already have a yellow. A guy gets a touch, then has a crazy over the top celebration. The ref wants to card him for it. If he does not want to black, his best option would be a red for disturbing order, and even if didn't want to do that, anything else would be at least a red. If he gives this, would it annul is last touch, and give the opponent the win? Or would his victory stand?

    If the Ref does give a card, it is for something the fencer did after the completion of the action. Therefore, the way I see it, it probably shouldn't affect the score. On the other hand, the bout isn't over until the Ref says that it's over, so I am sure that many will disagree.

    2) At the end of a close DE bout, a fencer wins then has a crazy over the top celebration where he gets black carded. Would this mean the other fencer has effectively won the bout, or that the original winner still won the bout, but is then ejected from the event?

    I guess that the timing really does matter here. If it's a black card before the bout is over (shaking and signing) it seems that the win would be forfeited and the opponent would win. If it's after the bout is over I would think that it would just be expulsion and the victory would stand.

    I think in both of these the exact timing may matter.

    I guess this is really the answer to both questions.

    Or am I seeing this all wrong?
     
  17. catwood1

    catwood1 Podium

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,415
    Likes Received:
    159
    Um... I want to say it was dallas last year? Some junior NAC. Winning fencer was high on the points list and had a very well known coach. No one knew the losing fencer. No card was given...

    I agree Allen, this probably is unsportsmanlike conduct. However, I could also understand any referee not wanting to throw this card. If nothing else, than because they don't want to deal with the b***s*** that would follow. Its not right, but it could happen.

    So does this thread mean no one knows what would happen, so just don't do it? Thanks acarter and rockstar, at least you gave it a shot. :) I tend to disagree with acarter, because that just seems bizarre, but it could be the correct interpretation.
     
  18. telkanuru

    telkanuru Podium

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,532
    Likes Received:
    643
    Nope.
     
  19. Allen Evans

    Allen Evans Podium

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,780
    Likes Received:
    821
    Under the rules, none of the immediate red cards would apply in this case besides disturbing order. A celebration (even a loud one) is not going to be grounds for a red card, unless, as I and others have mentioned, it's an unsportsmanlike display. In which case, you only have two choices: ignore it (because you don't want to deal with the bs) or black card the offending fencer.

    If you feel the bout is over, and the fencer is carrying on, you might be justified to give a yellow card for spectator disturbing order (at this point, there is a thin argument that the fencer is no longer actively participating in the bout, with theproblem that they are still on the strip). This is a lame warning shot across the bow, perhaps, but better than nothing.

    I beleive that all of the other red cards call for annulling a touch, but in your rather artificial example, none of them really apply to the offense.

    Your best bet is "refusing to salute after the final touch" which annuls his last touch and gives the winner a Group 3 read (T.87). But this is going to be very hard to defend to a BC.

    The situation is so artificial, the answers are going to be artificial as well, if anyone comes up with a good one, at all.

    AE
     
  20. telkanuru

    telkanuru Podium

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,532
    Likes Received:
    643
    Allen has it.

    I'm not willing to throw a big B for that, and I have no other cards or punishments to go to.

    So, I don't throw a card.
     

Share This Page