An amateur seeks your wisdom

Discussion in 'Armory - Q&A' started by Svirfneblic Pimfernickel, Jun 29, 2006.

1. Svirfneblic Pimfernickel

Svirfneblic Pimfernickel Rookie

French or Pistol Grip for my epee? I'm a complete novice.

2. Five Rings

Five Rings Rookie

Personally I prefer French, but you have to work hard at it, and resist using it to get the extra length by holding the pommel (you lose control that way). Pistol comes in many shapes and sizes - you should go to a meet where there are vendors and try out all the different ones (weight of an epee affects the balance). If I use pistol for epee, I go with a large Belgian that I modify slightly to fit my hand. Helps if you have a vice and some basic tools to adjust the fit.

3. VELISARIOS

VELISARIOS Rookie

I prefer pistol.

4. Five Rings

Five Rings Rookie

I think I meant "vise" - whatever - you know, the thing that clamps onto a workbench in your basement. As for tools, nothing special, pliers, wrenches, etc. Make sure that you wrap the serrated surfaces with some tape to avoid scratching surfaces. Best if someone who has done it before shows you how, especially if you are trying to fit a handle onto an electrical blade.

swordwench likes this.
  5. Fechter1

Fechter1 DE Bracket

Depends on your style, body type, athletic ability, etc.

I was started on a french grip, to learn proper blade manipulation technique, before I switched to pistol (I use a large version of the italian visconti).

I would suggest you stick with a french for now, especially for lessons, until you develop a good solid basics game. Once you start competing in tournaments, you might want to either switch to pistol, or start postin your french (or maybe even stick with the classical french, but that's quite rare, especially at the higher levels).

Really, it's up to you, but listen to your coach.

6. mwell13

mwell13 Rookie