350N v 1600N

Discussion in 'Armory - Q&A' started by capa, Aug 6, 2004.

1. capa

capa Rookie

Hi,

I have had a cornea trasnplant in my eye and so am very interested about what masks will give the utmost protection. I have found fencing to be very safe however I would still like peace of mind while bouting. :)

What is the difference between 350N and 1600N? Also, which is better, masks by Leon Paul or Uhlmann? are they the same or is there a difference considering I can obtain Uhlmann masks for $40 cheaper? Which company is more reputable among fencers?

Thankyou. I would appreciate any comments as I am still very new to the technicalities of fencing equipment.

2. Inquartata

Inquartata Podium

1250 Newtons...:)

Just kidding. The 1600N mask is more resistant to puncture, at least theoretically. So the mesh is stronger.

They are equivalent in terms of safety and durability, and both companies are fine to deal with. I haven't worn an LP, but I understand that they have fit and design features which some people prefer to those of Allstar/Uhlmann. I have always used Allstar ( same company as Uhlmann ) and like them fine. Absent specific preference you might as well decide by price...

But----is it impact resistance, ie cushioning, you're looking for, given your eye situation? The LP may be somewhat better in that regard, though again that's only what I hear...

3. Gav

Gav is a Verified Fencing ExpertGav Moderator!!

Neither is more reputable really.

I use the new LP comfort fit (1600N) mask. The comfort fit system makes a big difference in my opinion. Less weight. More comfortable. But it is really down to personal preference. If you have the opportunity ask around at your club and try on various peoples masks (before they fence) and see which you like best.

4. Artisan

Artisan Rookie

Consider this:

350 newton = 35.7 kilogram-force = 78.7 pound-force
    1600 newton = 163.1 kilogram-force = 359.7 pound-force