Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Opinions On Zivkovic Grips?

Opinions On Zivkovic Grips?

i've been fencing foil for the past 10 months, and epee for about the past month, both with visconti grips. I've taped all of my grips up quite a bit, but still have a problem of the weapon falling out of my hand or not being totally under control during intense fencing. I was at a competition recently and saw a Zivkovic grip, and figured that when I went to NACs in overland park i would try to look at some. Do you think the problem I'm having with my grips is because of the grip kind, or the grip size? and has anyone had any experience with Zivkovic grips, either positive or negitive? I'm looking at the B, Z, G, and GII versions of Zivkovic grips.

thanks everyone,
    ~Jes

I fenced with a borrowed zivkovik once. Can't remember the size, but it was light blue, don't know if that helps or not. My point was all over the place, probably just because I wasn't used to the grip. The main problem is that my bottom three fingers started cramping after two or three bouts.

I tried the grip once and really liked it. I just guess it really depends on the size of your hand and how much you like the grip.
    "That's hot." - Paris Hilton

Just Joined
    The first time I picked up a Ziv grip it felt great, extremely comfortable. I bought 2 complete epees from him on the spot. Then I went to actually fence with one, and I thought I was going to break my hand. Yes, there are some people who love them, but I think you will find that you'll have even less to "hang on to" than with your regular visconti grip.

Have you tried shortening your regular grip? I mean sawing or filing it off, so that your thumb is closer to the bell? Shortening it, say, a quarter inch will radically change the balance & mechanics of your epee. If you haven't done this, it's almost certainly going to make it easier for you to control your weapon in a bout.