Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: If only we had this sort of nit pickery for sword work in the movies.

Gav

If only we had this sort of nit pickery for sword work in the movies.

Check this out.

http://io9.com/5893693/is-hawkeye-fr...s-worst-archer

It's a great article and well worth reading.

I used to comment on movies like this, especially with regard to guns and swords (I've been shooting for many many years with a huge variety of firearms) - and I realized that if the point of the movie was to make it realistic, then there'd be no point to making it a movie - at the very best it would be a documentary and doesn't really need actors at all, much less a plot.

"ordinary real-life elements accurate"

This phrase did bug me, as if everyone is an archer who shoots like a world-class competitor, or even that everyone does any kind of archery at all. Expecting your audience to care about details like that is hopeless - you'll spend so much time perfecting the shooting stance of your actors that you'll never make a movie. You're really just making a bunch of scenes of someone shooting *accurately* and then trying to connect them with plot spackle - all to pander to a hilariously small demographic who would probably just rather be out doing it themselves.
    PeterGustafsson likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by Gav View Post
    Check this out.

http://io9.com/5893693/is-hawkeye-fr...s-worst-archer

It's a great article and well worth reading.
    Great pointer, thanks.