Thread: Average age for Olympic athletes?

Just Joined

Average age for Olympic athletes?

Helloooo everyone.
    I'm new to fencing.net...I think I'm starting to love this website. It's addictive like facebook, but better since it involves kickass fencing discussions!

I just wanted a general idea from you guys of what you think the average age of the Olympic fencer is. I've been watching a lot of fencing videos lately, and a lot of the male fencers seem older...but the women look really young! Especially the ones with star power...like Becca Ward, Zagunis, Jacobson, etc.

Just wondering if you think there's a general invisible cutoff age before you're considered 'past your prime' in the fencing world.

Quote Originally Posted by LilyEve View Post
    Helloooo everyone.
    I'm new to fencing.net...I think I'm starting to love this website. It's addictive like facebook, but better since it involves kickass fencing discussions!

I just wanted a general idea from you guys of what you think the average age of the Olympic fencer is. I've been watching a lot of fencing videos lately, and a lot of the male fencers seem older...but the women look really young! Especially the ones with star power...like Becca Ward, Zagunis, Jacobson, etc.

Just wondering if you think there's a general invisible cutoff age before you're considered 'past your prime' in the fencing world.
    One thing about fencing is that you can be up into your 60s and still be competitive....age and treachery, y'know!

Some of the toughest bouts I've had were against people a bit older than me.

As for Olympians...the ladies have tended to be college age...the men a touch older, but not much as I recall.
    Need fencing equipment? See me at H.O.M. Fencing Supply

Going to your first tournament? Read "Choose yer weapon, Laddie (or: Dude, where's my foil?)"