Thread: conditioning foil blades

conditioning foil blades

I'm new to fencing and just ordered a LP etoile foil (complete). I understand I should condition the blade. Any tips/help would be appreciated! Also - why didn't it come with a rigid cover? Is there a nice one I could buy or is it the hardware store for pvc plumbing?

Blog Entries
    Go to the hardware store and buy some PVC tubing and cut it down yourself.
    "Inside every older person is a younger person wondering what the hell happened." ~Cora Harvey Armstrong
    Never do anything you wouldn't want to explain to the Paramedics!

Not sure what you mean by "conditioning". Putting a bend in the blade is about all I can think of in this respect. do a search of the forum for a discussion.
    Available Now!!"The Care and Feeding of All Things Fencing", Third Edition go to The Armorer's Store or Fencing.net

Quote Originally Posted by Mergs View Post
    Not sure what you mean by "conditioning". Putting a bend in the blade is about all I can think of in this respect. do a search of the forum for a discussion.
    Yes, that's what I mean.

As I said, you can search the forum for a thread, or see sig line, below.
    Available Now!!"The Care and Feeding of All Things Fencing", Third Edition go to The Armorer's Store or Fencing.net

You might consider CPVC piping if you can get it (I know that I've gotten it at Lowes but can't recall whether or not Home Depot carries it). The CPVC piping isn't intended to withstand as much inyernal pressure as similar sized schedule 40 pipe so it will tend to have a thinner wall than standard PVC piping. This will sometimes allow you to go down a size (less bulk and weight) while still providing a reasonable degree of protection for the blade.

Blog Entries
    For a foil, 1/2" I.D. will almost certainly fit - it's $1.20 for 10 ft. at Home Depot.
    Last edited by EldRick; 03-09-2009 at 02:51 AM.