Virus Warning - Fencing.Net Discussion
topleft topright

Go Back   Fencing.Net Discussion > Fencing Lists and Archives > Discussion Archive

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2002, 03:50 AM   #1
Just Joined
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4
swordspyder will become famous soon enoughswordspyder will become famous soon enough
Virus Warning

This is ultimateswordsman .I changed my name because I changed my email address. Anyway, I am spreading the word about a virus thats been going around. It's spread via email, and is called "It takes guts to say Jesus" or something close to that. Here is what was put out:

Subject: URGENT
> >
> >
> > Very Urgent!!!!!!!
> >
> > PASS THIS ON TO ANYONE YOU HAVE AN E-MAIL
> ADDRESS FOR.
> > If you receive an email titled: "It Takes Guts
> to Say Jesus"
> > DO NOT OPEN IT. It will erase everything on your
> hard drive.
> > This information was announced yesterday morning
> from
> > IBM; AOL states that this is a very dangerous
> virus, much worse than
> > "Melissa," and that there is NO Remedy for it at
> this time. Some very sick
> > individual has succeeded in using the reformat
> function from Norton
> > Utilities
> > causing it to completely erase all documents on
> the hard drive. It has been
> > designed to work with Netscape Navigator and
> Microsoft Internet Explorer. It
> > destroys Macintosh and IBM compatible computers.
>
> >
> > This is a new, very malicious virus and not many
> people know about it. Pass
> > this warning along to EVERYONE in your address
> book and please share it with
> > all your online friends ASAP so that this threat
> maybe stopped. Please
> > practice cautionary measures and tell anyone
> that may have access to your
> > computer. Forward this warning to everyone that
> you know that might access
> > the Internet.
> >
> > Joyce L. Bober
> > IBM Information Systems
> > Pittsburgh Mailing Systems
> > 412 - 922-8744
>

Sorry, I'm a little too computer illiterate to make that into a quote or look nice, but that's the basic message.
swordspyder is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
And now for this message...
Go Green members don't see these ads.


Old 09-16-2002, 08:13 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
DJ Apostrophe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Chelmsford, MA
Posts: 1,876
DJ Apostrophe has a reputation beyond reputeDJ Apostrophe has a reputation beyond reputeDJ Apostrophe has a reputation beyond reputeDJ Apostrophe has a reputation beyond reputeDJ Apostrophe has a reputation beyond reputeDJ Apostrophe has a reputation beyond reputeDJ Apostrophe has a reputation beyond reputeDJ Apostrophe has a reputation beyond reputeDJ Apostrophe has a reputation beyond reputeDJ Apostrophe has a reputation beyond reputeDJ Apostrophe has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via ICQ to DJ Apostrophe Send a message via AIM to DJ Apostrophe
Hey guys,
Just wanted y'all to know ... its another virus hoax... what usually tips them off is when they say it works on mac and pc machines... not much does... here's the skinny on it:
http://securityresponse.symantec.com...esus-hoax.html
__________________
Prise de Fer SYC 2009 Dates Announced!
Boys: March 14 & 15, 2009
Girls: April 4 & 5, 2009
Events will be held at Dana Hall school again.
DJ Apostrophe is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 09-16-2002, 12:47 PM   #3
Just Joined
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4
swordspyder will become famous soon enoughswordspyder will become famous soon enough
sorry! I just go tthe email and was passing it on. It looks like it was reported a long time ago too...... I'll have to check more if I get another one before I pass it on
swordspyder is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 09-16-2002, 06:06 PM   #4
Quit (no longer with us)
 
135711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: usa
Posts: 1,307
135711

Last edited by 135711; 09-17-2002 at 01:43 AM.
135711 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 09-17-2002, 09:20 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
MikeHarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Ypsilanti, Mi USA
Posts: 1,591
MikeHarm is a splendid one to beholdMikeHarm is a splendid one to beholdMikeHarm is a splendid one to beholdMikeHarm is a splendid one to beholdMikeHarm is a splendid one to beholdMikeHarm is a splendid one to behold
Speaking of viruses, from the way the bulletin board is set up with letting people put hyperlinks and such in the posts, it would seem vulnerable to people putting up links that would infect people with computer viruses. I've seen that happen some other places before that had problem users.
MikeHarm is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warning Bebop and Rocksteady Discussion Archive 2 07-10-2002 07:46 AM
Warning sallearmourer Discussion Archive 11 05-05-2002 05:32 PM
Point Control software warning BarryTice Discussion Archive 0 11-21-2001 05:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:58 AM.


(c) 1995 - 2007 Fencing Net; Fencing.Net, fdn, Fencing101, Epee101, Foil101, Sabre101 are all trademarks of Fencing.Net, LLC.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. - Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC5 -    Medieval Swords from the online Replica Sword Shop