Thread: Best Grip for Short Fingers

Best Grip for Short Fingers

Hello, I'm new here (and to fencing in general) and I'm in desperate need of advice.

- You see, I have very small hands and short, Homer Simpson fingers, and I'm having trouble finding the correct grip to suite my needs. Since I'm just a novice , I've been using my instructor's equitment; a generic begginer's French Grip Foil.
    I tried Pistol Grip, but I find it uncomfortable; however, French Grip isn't that much better; my thumb barely touches the top of the grip (excuse bad terminology)

Is there any quirky, offbeat foil grips that I should check out? I live in NYC, so I shouldn't have any trouble tracking anything down; and my funds are sufficient - I'm all for ordering some limited, discontinued, rule-grey area-ed grip.

Sorry for taking up your time...

I don't understand what you mean by your thumb barely touching the top of the grip. You could Zivkovic grips, specifically the models intended for younger fencers.

Quote Originally Posted by erooMynohtnA View Post
    I don't understand what you mean by your thumb barely touching the top of the grip. You could Zivkovic grips, specifically the models intended for younger fencers.
    Well, I essentially hold the French grip as if my hands is in a fist, because my thumb can barely stay up while holding the foil (Sorry, I'm really bad at describing this stuff) Basically, I can't hold it the correct way; due to my small hands.

if you hold your hands like a fist, look into the Russian pistol. You should ask your coach for some examples. I'm pretty sure he'd have a few (read a lot) of grips lying around for you to test before buying your own.
    "Someday someone will hold a meet at which there are absolutely no problems with any of the electrical equipment. I suspect that the news of this event will be buried back on page eleven of the newspapers, however, with the first ten pages taken by the news that Hell has frozen over." -Rudy Volkman