Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Rutgers Fencing will be gone in a year.

Just Joined

Rutgers Fencing will be gone in a year.

Here is an excerpt from an e-mail that was sent to me this morning. I am a recent graduate of the school, but I thought that people might like to know, especially those who might be looking to Rutgers as a prospect in the near future:

In addition, the university will eliminate six intercollegiate varsity sports in New Brunswick/Piscataway: men's tennis, men's fencing, women's fencing, men's swimming and diving, men's heavyweight crew, and men's lightweight crew. Please know that we will maintain these sports at the varsity level for the coming academic year, and we expect that almost all will be offered as club sports in the future. Furthermore, we will honor all scholarships for affected student athletes. In the same way, we will honor the scholarships of all students entering Rutgers this fall under the Outstanding Scholar Recruitment Program (OSRP), despite the Governor's line-item veto of state funding to support new OSRP scholarships.

Rutgers will also absorb the budget shortfall by cutting back on the number of
    courses offered in the coming year. We will eliminate as many as 800 courses and course sections while working hard so that as many students as possible can still get the classes they need to progress in their majors and to graduate in a timely manner.
    This is further evidence that New Jersey is one of the most difficult states to live in. I have nothing against Corzine, he has to do what is right for the greatest amount of people in the state. There are just way too many interests in the state, and everyone has their hand out.