Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need help on Epee Training techniques

Just Joined
    Blog Entries

Need help on Epee Training techniques

Okay so I am quite new to fencing, i have been fencing for about a month or two ish, the footwork i have down and im starting to see openings and such in matches, but what i need help is having the ability to know if im in range or not. I have long arms as it is, but having to hold a 3 foot blade added to it is making it hard on me. Any tips on other than just attaching a giant 3footlong towel doil to my hand?

Thank you

If you're having trouble holding the blade, you need to get on a strength training regimen. About footwork though.... you'll never be able to do enough. If you think you have it "down" you're wrong. You need to practice it alot, and refine it.

Judging the distance is often a matter of experience, and it depends on your perception of your opponents footwork, as well as your own. Against some begginers, I am "in distance" with my torso 2 feet from their tip, and against some good fencers, 10 feet of distance isnt far enough. Footwork will allow you to be at the right place at the right time, and when that time comes, your perception of distance will not matter. You will be the distance.
    "I've seen things you people wouldn't believe. And from this side only! The flight of a half-man, half-bird. Dinosaurs nuzzling their young in pastures where strip malls should be. Cookies on dowels. All those moment, lost in time. Gone, like eggs off a hooker's stomach. Time to die" -Phil Ken Sebben

Just Joined
    Blog Entries
    My grip is fine, and my footwork is getting there i agree we work on it everyday. So are you saying that pointcontrol isnt as important comepared to footwork?

and a drill to work on point control i was told by my coach to hang a tennis ball by a string in my doorway, how does that sound?

Quote Originally Posted by Skeletorsnell