Thread: Am I too old to start fencing now???

Am I too old to start fencing now???

Hello! My name is Hydie and I am new to this board. Recently I've been checking out the Olympic games, and found fencing a very exciting (and challenging) sport. I am very interested in learning it. So I am planning to take beginning classes in collge this fall. I am 18 right now and going to be 19 in March. Am I a little too old to start fencing now? I mean, most people who play sports start learning at a very early age. I was never too athletic (until lately, I've been doing a lot of running, walking, cylcing, and weight-lifting at home) but I am really interested in this sport. I have no prior knowledge or experience whatsoever. What would you suggst? Would the sport be too tough for an 18-year-old? How much time do you usually put into trainings (esp. at the very beginning)? I am not planning to be playing Champions or Olympics but I just want to learn. It seems like such a wonderful and unique kind of sports. Please tell me what you think. Thanks. And I hope to know you all a little better really soon.

- Hydie

ಠ_ಠ
    Blog Entries
    no
    you aren't too old

training time depends on the club

Blog Entries
    You aren't too old to start, as long as you are willing to put in the time it takes. There certainly are many people who started fencing as children, but others have started all the way into late middle age and been able to compete. It's a life-long sport in which intelligence and craftiness play a large role. I started at 43 a couple of years after my daughter started at 10, and we've both had success in competition.

You're probably too old to have your fencing be much of a factor in your college acceptance or any possible scholarships, certainly! But a surprising number of people begin fencing for the first time in college.